It seems that you're using an outdated browser. Some things may not work as they should (or don't work at all).
We suggest you upgrade newer and better browser like: Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer or Opera

supplementscene: I'm not very experienced RPG player, before Risen my experience was only Oblivion and Skyrim on the PS3. And I think Risen (which is the successor of the Gothic series) to be very similar imo. I found the interraction with the NPC and exploring the world enjoyable. It is fights are very hard until you level up though. After a long time leveling up my skills I ran out of EXP and ended up resorting to using cheat codes to level up, which can be easily found. I actually think some RPGs which you might give up can be made more tollerable by cheating a bit. Does that sound bad?

Gothic 2 is supposed to be the biggest of Piranha Bites games but I do recomend Risen. Anyway I've found Risen to be very combat orientated but I didn't go the mage root. On that basis I'm guessing the other Gothic games are going to have loads of combat so something to consider if that isn't your thing
Oh, compared to the first two Gothics (didn't play 3rd to know), Risen combat was very manageable. Was going for mage, so saving points, NO combat skills in chapter one, and just about cleared the map. Ghouls are awfully fast and got me the vast majority of the time so a lot of save scumming with those, brontocs are a problem when meleeing, and ashbeasts and ogres were the only ones clearly out of my league in that no-skills situation. But everything else? Just fine thank you very much, just be slow and tactical. Could fight a war cricket for five minutes, but won. Even recall taking on two at some point, had to use terrain, choke points, positioning, being very very careful, but sure was a nice feeling when I got them.