It seems that you're using an outdated browser. Some things may not work as they should (or don't work at all).
We suggest you upgrade newer and better browser like: Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer or Opera

FacundoTupac: Where should I write that? Sorry, I'm a complete Linux noob, it's my first time on the OS.
Paste the command I shared in a terminal. It should run the game, forcing it to use software rendering.

If the game does not run, it might display an error in the terminal. Then copy the error here, and we may be able to help you to understand what went wrong ;)

FacundoTupac: I should turn the .Lua back to write & read also, right?
Yes, I think it could cause issues if you keep it read-only.
FacundoTupac: Where should I write that? Sorry, I'm a complete Linux noob, it's my first time on the OS.
vv221: Paste the command I shared in a terminal. It should run the game, forcing it to use software rendering.

If the game does not run, it might display an error in the terminal. Then copy the error here, and we may be able to help you to understand what went wrong ;)

FacundoTupac: I should turn the .Lua back to write & read also, right?
vv221: Yes, I think it could cause issues if you keep it read-only.
Thanks for all your patience with this. Pasted it and got the game running without any error popping up in terminal but the results are still the same, no improvement on the fps. This is what the terminal output from that command, just in case there's something important there:

INFO: status: 0
INFO: Creating DPWrapper
INFO: Steam not found
INFO: scanning:(0) /home/tupac/.local/share/play.it/prefixes/baldurs-gate-2-enhanced-edition/override
INFO: scanning:(1) /home/tupac/.local/share/play.it/prefixes/baldurs-gate-2-enhanced-edition/scripts
INFO: scanning:(2) /home/tupac/.local/share/play.it/prefixes/baldurs-gate-2-enhanced-edition/sounds
INFO: scanning:(3) /home/tupac/.local/share/play.it/prefixes/baldurs-gate-2-enhanced-edition/lang/en_US/sounds