It seems that you're using an outdated browser. Some things may not work as they should (or don't work at all).
We suggest you upgrade newer and better browser like: Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer or Opera

A demo version of the second episode came as shareware on the first desktop my family bought, an old Acer, with Windows 95. I've recently gotten an Acer netbook and installed Ubuntu onto it. Someone made a little 3-level game based on Tyrian, and the memories flooded back. I loved this game.

So, has anyone tried to run it on Linux? I've got WINE, and it seemed to install ok. But after launching, it simply configures the video settings, and then nothing happens. I'm also somewhat new to Linux in general, so if anyone has any advice, that'd be great. I'd love to play this old favorite again.

Thanks

Edit: Ah. DOSBox. However, when attempting to mount the /home/username as instructed in the README with DOSBox, I'm not sure which directory to go to, the virtual C drive created by WINE, or the real location of the files.
Post edited March 07, 2011 by redoctober17
No posts in this topic were marked as the solution yet. If you can help, add your reply
If I understand you rightly, I think once you are in DOSBox you then need to navigate to location of the game as DOSBox would see it. In Windows I use DOSBox using the primary hard drive so that it navigates to the actual install path. I don't know if this is different for Linux, using WINE, however. I'd imagine that DOSBox is installed within WINE, so you would point it at the directory structure within WINE (which is probably your virtual drive) as the game would have been installed within WINE.
That sounds right, but after mounting the virtual drive (DOSBox is indeed installed within WINE), it doesn't recognize the folder as existing. The location is