It seems that you're using an outdated browser. Some things may not work as they should (or don't work at all).
We suggest you upgrade newer and better browser like: Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer or Opera

It seems like we should be able to build this processor and board set for real. And how cool would it be if we did?

I'm not an engineer, but 16 instructions, a primary register and backup register, registers are 16 bit (technically 14bit), input and output flow... Not only that the chip would probably have very few transistors and run low power. Naturally you can't put a full blown OS on it, but for fun people make 4-8 bit computers just because they can, and manually creating a breadboard to simulate this 4bit processor seems like it could be done quite easily, or if there's enough engineers who want to play with a simple parallel CPU they could make thousands of these and sell them to enthusiasts.

Let's see. Probably internal memory for ROM would be 20-24 bits, or 40-48 bytes of rom programming per chip.

So if we try to map the chip with pins, it would probably be

1 power
1 ground/out
4 io pins (each direction)
4 timing/ready pins (each direction)
1 external stepper pin? (to single step?)
1 ??? (use stepper? or possibly full output of PC, Acc, Bak, and instruction on each step?)

so 10-12 pins total.

Base BIOS would probably be by default to do a binary left, top, right, programming mode (never program down). This means that both the IO and the timing pins would be used during power on (and simplify programming the chips in parallel from one chip rather than each chip individually). By default the chip would read from any of the inputs and once it's filled it would then take over and either return a 'done' signal to the previous chip, or it would forward instructions to the next chip in the sequence. Once the chip has been programmed and not waiting on anything it would start executing, likely being blocked until all the nearby chips are programmed.