It seems that you're using an outdated browser. Some things may not work as they should (or don't work at all).
We suggest you upgrade newer and better browser like: Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer or Opera

fronzelneekburm: One of the people behind Defender's Quest recently had some very interesting things to say about this:

GOG is extremely aggressive about seeking parity -- I know b/c I'm a dev and without fail, if I update the Steam version and forget to update GOG I'm gonna get an email from them within 24 hours politely requesting a parity update -- and such a clause is in my contract.

The trick is enforcement. GOG has limited leverage over large devs, and large devs aren't always well incented to keep GOG updated. Given GOG's smaller market share, I would guess if GOG pushed too hard on this issue certain devs would just not release on the platform so they could spare the friction. It's a tricky balance.
fronzelneekburm: Sauce
I saw that too, and it makes perfect sense to me. Very unfortunate but it does make sense.
I'm going to copy the whole tweet from here, courtesy of Lars Doucet (@larsiusprime), a developer of Defender's Quest, and condense the entire thread into one forum post for archival purposes (and to link people in case they ask about GOG version parity). So without further ado.

Lot of commenters talking about how GOG needs to push harder to force developers to give them parity updates. Thing is, that's already in GOG contracts (at least it is in mine). The trick is enforcing that without scaring devs off the platform entirely.

If I update my game on Steam and forget to update GOG, I will get a polite email from GOG within like 24 hours, without fail. They're pretty aggressive about seeking this. But their leverage is limited -- if a dev doesn't want to update, what are they gonna do, sue?