The legendary Quake turns 25 this month. Feeling old yet?

It’s time for another exciting anniversary here at GOG.COM! This month marks the 25th anniversary of the legendary FPS Quake.
First-person shooters are one of the most iconic genres of video games, and Quake was one of the series that helped lead that charge. Developed by id Software in 1996, the game builds upon the studio’s previous title, Doom, and offers players an updated game on the all-new Quake engine.
The studio also continued with its popular multiplayer introduced in Doom in 1993 and even revolutionized the way players connect and play online matches.
To celebrate, we wanted to highlight the Quake games that are available today at GOG.COM. Quake was originally released in 1996. Since then, several iterations of the game have come out, all building upon the success of previous titles. Today, there are four different Quake games available on GOG.COM. Take a look!

Quake: The Offering

The original Quake launched 25 years ago, in 1996. The innovative FPS built off of the success of id Software’s previous project, Doom. But Quake was a huge step forward for id. The newly developed Quake engine allowed id to make some huge leaps both graphically and mechanically with Quake.
Quake’s story mode sees the player navigate through a series of dark, Gothic levels. Levels have keys and levers that must be unlocked to progress to the next stage. Each level is filled with terrifying enemies that get progressively tougher as you raise the difficulty from easy to medium, hard, or even nightmare difficulty.
What really made Quake stand out as an FPS was its innovative multiplayer deathmatch. The multiplayer consists of now-familiar modes like free-for-all, one-on-one duels, and team deathmatch. You can use an arsenal of weapons to rocket jump your way around Quake’s crazy levels and blow up your friends over and over again!

Quake II: Quad Damage

Quake II was the next installment in the series, but it’s not a direct sequel. Originally launched in 1997, Quake II plays very similarly to its predecessor, with a few enhancements. Quake II was a huge leap from the original quake, with around 55 levels and a 64-player deathmatch!
Quake II: Quad Damage is our complete version of the game. Quad Damage comes with both mission expansions, The Reckoning and Ground Zero. These expansions add all-new single-player and deathmatch levels and an assortment of explosive new weapons.
This ultimate version of the game also includes the netpack, Extremities. This is a hand-picked list of mods from id Software itself. The mod pack includes amazing improvements, like new deathmatch objectives, powerups, and skins. Experience Quake II at its best with Quake II: Quad Damage!

Quake III: Gold

Quake III: Arena was id Software’s first departure in the series. While the gameplay is very similar, Quake III: Arena dives head-first into the popular multiplayer aspect of the series. While there is no single-player story like in the first games, you can still play Quake: III: Arena solo against increasingly difficult bots that simulate the multiplayer experience.
But this game is all about multiplayer. Developed on an all-new engine, Quake III: Arena builds on the success of previous multiplayer modes in Quake and delivers a well-rounded experience. With several modes, including Deathmatch, Capture the Flag, and the unique Freeze Rails mode, Quake III: Arena is an exciting focus on the multiplayer gameplay that made Quake what it is today.
Quake III: Gold gives you access to both the original game, as well as the game’s only official expansion. Quake III: Team Arena is an expansion focused on team play, adding three new weapons and various game modes. With even more exciting rocket jumps and overall weaponry, Quake III: Gold is an exciting multiplayer experience that fans of the series won’t want to miss out on.

Quake 4

Quake 4 is a bit of a return to form for the Quake series. This time around id Software teamed up with Raven Software and Activision to bring us an epic sequel to Quake II. Quake 4’s single-player campaign continues the story of Quake II, with players fighting back against an evil cyborg race called the Strogg.
Originally launching in 2005, Quake 4 gives fans an all-new campaign experience without compromising the innovative multiplayer that fans have grown to love. In addition to an epic invasion of the Strogg homeworld, Quake 4 continues the series’ reputation of having one of the most exciting multiplayer competitions in gaming.
Quake 4 multiplayer consists of popular modes like Deathmatch, Team Deathmatch, and Capture the Flag. Using the new id Tech 4 engine, Quake 4 combines the notable movement aspects found in previous Quake games with the additions of new elements, like teleporters and boosted physics that let you do things like bounce grenades off of jump-pads.

Quake turns 25!

Quake officially turns 25 years old this month! It has been quite a fantastic journey for the franchise over the last two decades. The series from id Software has grown to become one of the most beloved shooters of all time throughout several games and expansions.
If you’ve never had the chance to experience the Quake franchise or just want to revisit the series, now is the perfect time with any of these titles available on GOG.COM!
What do you think? Plan on checking any of these Quake games out? Let us know down in the comments!