It seems that you're using an outdated browser. Some things may not work as they should (or don't work at all).
We suggest you upgrade newer and better browser like: Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer or Opera

Control was just released so... obviously I beat Quantum Break on Xbox One, ha! My first impression was that this one's gonna stink but ultimately I enjoyed it quite a lot.

So, the big deal about this game was that it was "part game, part live action show", it was supposed to be some big multimedia experiment that Microsoft requested from Remedy. Well, it's all utter bullshit. Ultimately it's just far too long cutscenes that play at four points during the campaign. Really, that's all it is. And while these cutscenes may have higher production value than your typical live action stuff in video games they would make a pretty boring and shitty TV series in terms of production value and editing and, depending on the character, acting. Also, when I started playing the game and reached the first of these live action scenes it turned out that those weren't even installed yet and the default method for watching them, streaming, apparently doesn't work anymore. So I had to take a break while a 75 GB "free DLC" was being downloaded. Aaargh!

But besides that: it's for the most part just an okay game. It's a solid third-person shooter but not a great one by any means. The one thing that distinguishes it from other shooters are the powers that the game's hero, Jack Joyce, has at his disposal. So he can create a shield, teleport, freeze enemies, sprint like the Flash... as a matter of fact a lot about this game reminded me of the current Flash TV series, heh. At first the combat seemed just generic and boring to me but the game has its moments once you reach tougher opponents, especially ones with powers of their own, and you are highly encouraged to use these powers (but at least on normal difficulty most of the fights can be done without using them at all).