It seems that you're using an outdated browser. Some things may not work as they should (or don't work at all).
We suggest you upgrade newer and better browser like: Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer or Opera

MarkoH01: Like I said: I am totally with you and having the guarantee that games will always receive all updates would be a dream for me. Unfortunately I think that this will only happen if GOG has gained much more reputation so that the image is more important to the devs.
As for selling cracked, up-to-date Steam versions: I don't think it would merely endanger contracts, it would also likely be breaking some international laws. Unfortunately, there doesn't seem to be a law against refusing to provide updates to certain retailers. Or is there? Wouldn't it constitute an unfair business practice to provide one outlet with a proper product, while the other outlet is habitually supplied with sub-standard products? Obviously, I'm no legal expert, but this situation has me wondering what options there are.

I'm curious: Would you say that, going forward, gog has any idea on how they should go about to acquire the above-mentioned street cred with devs? Your use of the word "unfortunately" seems to (unwittingly) imply that they don't. ;)

It seems to me that they bent over backwards to accomodate their business partners, often at the expense of their customers. So what else is there to do to get devs to respect their authoritah? They'll always play second fiddle to Steam, so that can't be the eternal excuse for devs' laziness and complacency.
If GOG wants to regain the respect of the community there's a few things they need to do asap:

1) Get rid of the rep system. This is the secret achilles heel that everyone hates, and is probably the oldest part of GOG that people have tried to get rid of.