It seems that you're using an outdated browser. Some things may not work as they should (or don't work at all).
We suggest you upgrade newer and better browser like: Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer or Opera

I thought I would never succeed in this crazy attempt to modify the executable to make it run at my native resolution..
I'm not a coder, I don't know x86 assembly, I thought it was only a frustrating waste of time.

But.. I DID IT..
IT WORKS :-)

I used my CD retail italian version of the game, patched to 1.0.11.. don't know if the modified gc.exe can be used with GOG's version too.

Ground Control - Starting Mission 01 - 1920x1080

Ground Control - Doing Mission 01 - 1920x1080
Please, give us a download to test.
What you should do is post what you actually changed in the executable (preferably step-by-step), and post it here as well as the widescreen gaming forums (or let someone else do it). GC1 is lacking an entry there, and that's the first hit anyone gets by googling 'ground control 1 widescreen'.

This is so people can modify the executable for different resolutions other than 1920x1080, as people have different monitors.

Just coming here showing you did it (without telling how) is only pouring salt in the wounds for anyone who wants to play this game widescreen in the future.
Post edited October 07, 2012 by wixxkruppel
Don't worry,I will indeed share the procedure with everyone, didn't post the executable yet 'cause I applied the hack on my italian/cd version of the executable and the CD is needed to make it run.

I downloaded a nocd english version of the executable and I will try the same procedure on it, but I need some time.