It seems that you're using an outdated browser. Some things may not work as they should (or don't work at all).
We suggest you upgrade newer and better browser like: Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer or Opera

dtgreene, I figured the process was something like that, though I didn't know the specific details (mainly because I'm not familiar with some of the terminology - I haven't heard of things like Wayland, etc.). Thanks for clarifying about Ctrl+Alt+F1/F2, and I'll keep that in mind if I ever need it, but I seem to be able to load it correctly now (though I may have to keep typing the parameter every time, and is it supposed to take like 10 min?).

sanscript, to clarify, I wouldn't say I'm not a geek/nerd (you were referring to me, right?). In fact, I have a master's degree in computer science and I'm way into sci-fi/fantasy, which I think puts me in both the geek/nerd categories. I simply have next to no experience with Linux whatsoever, and most places I look give explanations that seem to expect a person to already be very familiar with Linux in general, which I'm not, and that's why it's nice to have step-by-step instructions rather than a general overview that leaves out a lot of details. That's all.
HeresMyAccount: sanscript, to clarify, I wouldn't say I'm not a geek/nerd (you were referring to me, right?). In fact, I have a master's degree in computer science and I'm way into sci-fi/fantasy, which I think puts me in both the geek/nerd categories.
It's true that I don't know you or what you've accomplished, and I perhaps presumed too much, but that was just sarcasm thrown at her. I sometimes like to do that.

Don't ask why... XD
Oh, that's alright. It's not always easy to tell sarcasm when it's typed. And I really wasn't annoyed, anyway, but I just wanted to clarify, because saying that I'm not a geek would be like telling a black man he's not black (I'm not though, but that's just an example).