It seems that you're using an outdated browser. Some things may not work as they should (or don't work at all).
We suggest you upgrade newer and better browser like: Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer or Opera

TCloud9: Hey everyone!

I'm new to the Linux world of gaming, but I have a lot of experience on Windows machines. Initially, I tried running Painkiller and Medal of Honor using the PlayOnLinux app included in the Software Center, but I ran into installer issues with the new gog installers, so I axed that for binaries compiled specifically for Ubuntu.

I downloaded BG, ran the installed, and have shortcuts on my desktop. When I click on any of the three installers, my CPU cycles go up, but then immediately back down, and I get nothing rendered.

I ran into a forum post about a similar issue (https://www.gog.com/forum/baldurs_gate_series/games_wont_launch_in_linux), but following those instructions didn't help. I did install the packages he's referring to, but when I start from terminal, this is what I get:

user@laptop:~/GOG Games/Baldurs Gate The Original Saga$ ./start.sh
Running Baldur's Gate: The Original Saga
[drunk][04/05/2017_19:45:25] WINEDEBUG=trace+x11settings
[drunk][04/05/2017_19:45:25] WINEDLLOVERRIDES=mscoree,mshtml=
[drunk][04/05/2017_19:45:25] WINEPREFIX=/home/user/GOG Games/Baldurs Gate The Original Saga/drunk/../prefix/
[drunk][04/05/2017_19:45:25] starting wine
[drunk][04/05/2017_19:45:25] starting drunk daemon
[drunkd][04/05/2017_19:45:25] preparing to start drunkd
[drunkd][04/05/2017_19:45:25] primary display device detected as: LVDS-1
[drunkd][04/05/2017_19:45:25] current resolution stored: 1366x768
[drunk][04/05/2017_19:45:25] wine run ended
user@laptop:~/GOG Games/Baldurs Gate The Original Saga$ [drunk][04/05/2017_19:45:26] waiting for BGMain2.exe to start

Does anyone have any suggestions? Thanks!

Edit: That's Xubuntu 16.04.2 x64
Hello TCloud9,