It seems that you're using an outdated browser. Some things may not work as they should (or don't work at all).
We suggest you upgrade newer and better browser like: Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer or Opera

So, I just started playing this little gem that I have for some reason missed out on for twenty years. I love it so far, however, I'm stuck on the second scenario, One Lonely Settlement.

I'm running out of tools and am still far away from producing my own. Obviously I've been trying to buy them from the free traders, however, those don't even seem to be present on the map at all. They don't come to my ports and I also can't see any when exploring the whole map. I wonder if there are any special conditions that have to be met to make them appear.

I've read in a guide that trading supposedly becomes available in this scenario once you settle on another island. Well, I've done that, twice. I have three docks/warehouses, I've set them all to buy tools and sell cloth and liquor, alas, still no trader.

Any ideas? Am I missing something? Or can it be that the game somehow glitched out on me and has not recognised that I've settled on another island?

Edit: Funny. I started over, the trader still wouldn't show up. As I was about to run out of tools again the game suddenly told me that I had fulfilled the assignment, God knows why. I'm 90% certain that I had taken all tools from the main island so they shouldn't have been able to upgrade their homes and become citizens. Meanwhile my secondary island was booming, my best guess is that somehow that one's progress triggered the objective even though the scenario description stated that specifically the first island has to achieve a certain population.

I guess there's a slight chance that a trader did show up eventually and that's how the first island got the tools but I would have noticed a free trader at my second island that I was focusing on, wouldn't I?
Post edited December 10, 2017 by F4LL0UT