It seems that you're using an outdated browser. Some things may not work as they should (or don't work at all).
We suggest you upgrade newer and better browser like: Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer or Opera

Breja: As I am a total layman in these matters, could someone bottom line what this really means for the game and CDPR?
Not much. Everybody believes that whatever codebase that comes out of their shop is pure gold.

Unless you are doing some next gen research, people wouldn't pay or would pay very little for most of it. They might pay for a final product, but what really has value are the intellectual property rights of the assembled codebase, not the code.

What would somebody really do with the GWENT code? Relabel it and sell it? You think that would fly?

A lot of larger companies have come to realise this, which is part of the reason the open-source movement has taken off in such a big way.
Most likely amounting to nothing, pure overreaction. But hey, crapping on CDP is the hottest trend in 2021. You guys must be YongYea's best friends.
Magnitus: What would somebody really do with the GWENT code? Relabel it and sell it? You think that would fly?
In an online-only game like this, having access to the source code is the wet dream for cheat/hack authors. Hell, eventually someone might even find vulnerabilities to attack all players at once with some form of malware or another.
Plokite_Wolf: In an online-only game like this, having access to the source code is the wet dream for cheat/hack authors. Hell, eventually someone might even find vulnerabilities to attack all players at once with some form of malware or another.
There are tools to reverse-engineer compiled codebases. Its more work, but if you are motivated, you can totally do it.