It seems that you're using an outdated browser. Some things may not work as they should (or don't work at all).
We suggest you upgrade newer and better browser like: Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer or Opera

hi...

I recently started playing Fallout games ( 1,2+ tactics) again , on new pc with win 10 pro
The games used to run well on XP32 bits and win7 64 bits cause the compatibilty settings were much better.

Main problem is: CPU usage is just to high and GPU (gtx750) is too low ( GPU should be under heavy load)

see attachment: screenshot1.jpg
Attachments:
Post edited September 04, 2020 by gamesfreak64
This question / problem has been solved by Schwertzimage
gamesfreak64: GPU should be under heavy load
No, it should not. From about the moment DirectX 8 was released all strain of the 2d acceleration has been moved from GPU to CPU. Also Fallout s 1 and 2 are DirectX 3 games AFAIR and do most of the graphics work on CPU even when GPU acceleration is available. Moreover internal scripting machine of these games is rather hungry for CPU resources as well. And it is not parallelable at all. Unicore executables. Just play old games on the proper operation systems.
Post edited September 05, 2020 by Schwertz
gamesfreak64: GPU should be under heavy load
Schwertz: No, it should not. From about the moment DirectX 8 was released all strain of the 2d acceleration has been moved from GPU to CPU. Also Fallout s 1 and 2 are DirectX 3 games AFAIR and do most of the graphics work on CPU even when GPU acceleration is available. Moreover internal scripting machine of these games is rather hungry for CPU resources as well. And it is not parallelable at all. Unicore executables. Just play old games on the proper operation systems.
Thanks for the quick reply.

So basically it is okay that old games put a load on the CPU because of the old DirectX 3 and 5.